Growing Courageous Kids

(& Parents!)

To Strive or Not to Strive…

on February 11, 2009

In the past month, I jumped in with both feet to the “twitterverse,” which is a way of communicating with tons of people via “micro-blogging” (only 140 characters per “tweet”/entry). Imagine going to party and being privy to everyone’s conversations at once! There are a lot of amazing people there that I have met and I’m excited to meet hundreds more.

In reading people’s twitter-names and bios, I’ve noticed some talk about “striving” for a particular goal, task or life-style.

Ahhh. Striving.

I react strongly to that word. I learned many years ago that life is much better if I don’t strive, but rather allow myself to be moved into “inspired action” as my coach calls it. This is true for me especially in a spiritual context. I don’t want to strive here; instead I surrender and yield to God’s Spirit that leads to living a life of LOVE.

Maybe, I’m reacting to semantics, but for me, striving is hard work—going against the natural flow and relying on my soul/mind effort versus letting inspiration flow through me, leading me, pulling me along, into action.

This isn’t to say that we don’t work hard, persevere and live a disciplined life.

Our kids need to learn persistence and discipline for their courageous foundation. Understanding that they don’t need to “try”, but rather CAPTURE the ideas when they flow, RESPOND when inspiration flows, SURRENDER by living in the present moment and not worrying about the future.*

We need to work hard, yes. Develop persistence, yes. But to strive and live in constant tension…NO. I don’t think striving is worth it.

What do you think? Are you happier when you strive? Let me know!

*Thanks to the “Conscious Achievers” in Life Coach Mary’s Success & Inner Peace Bootcamp for these ideas and insights!

Follow me on twitter!

Leave a Reply

